question

Randy King avatar image
Randy King asked

Allocating resources in OnSessionStarted

I need to retrieve user specific resources from a database on new session start. I need to do this whether it is a LaunchRequest or an IntentRequest. The OnSessionStarted event handler seems the obvious place to do this. However, it appears from looking through AlexaSkills.js that an OnSessionStarted even handler cannot have asynchronous calls. Can this be right? I am new to the whole asynchronous callback thing in Node.js and to the object-oriented JavaScript approach. However, I moved my first project to ver. 1.0 of the SDK (AlexaSkill.js) specifically because I was having problem getting this to work in the beta SDK framework. Please let me know what people are doing when they need asynchronous resources regardless of whether it is a LaunchRequest or IntentRequest - just duplicating the code? Thanks for the guidance!
alexa skills kitdebugging
10 |5000

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Greg Crawford avatar image
Greg Crawford answered
Edit: I didn't read your post thoroughly. Why not do the the required async database access in the LaunchRequest event? Message was edited by: Greg Crawford
10 |5000

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Greg Crawford answered
Note that in the sample code, onSessionStarted is not being called as a request type distinct from LaunchRequest or IntentRequest. There is a check for event.session.new made in the handler, no matter the request type. When onSessionStarted is completed, control continues on to the request handlers and both LaunchRequest or IntentRequest (as well as SessionEndedRequest) allow for async calls. So you shouldn't have any problems.
10 |5000

Randy King avatar image
Randy King answered