question

Careful Reader avatar image
Careful Reader asked

Terms of Use legalese

Are the terms of use translated anywhere for non-lawyers? I'm asking because there's a (horrid) discussion about them on a POD forum I belong to and where there are all kinds of claims about how Amazon has set itself up so it can (legally?) steal from the designers, which sounds truly absurd. I've read the terms to mean that Amazon wants designers to agree to allow images of their products to be used for promotional reasons, but I'm not a lawyer, and so the various terms could easily be about something else.
merch by amazon
10 |5000

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Leia@Amazon avatar image
Leia@Amazon answered
Thanks for the help and clarification, Careful Reader. Although we can't fully translate anything from legalese, the rights are non-exclusive and royalties for each t-shirt sold are paid in accordance with the Merch by Amazon Services Agreement which can be found at https://merch.amazon.com/resource/201859930.
10 |5000

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

L. Frase avatar image
L. Frase answered
I've seen that same discussion going on about Amazon Handmade. I would be interested in hearing more.
10 |5000

John A. avatar image
John A. answered
Since Amazon is doing the printing and everything, we have to grant them permission and license to our designs. I wouldn't worry about it too much. You still get royalties for your designs. Message was edited by: John A.
10 |5000

Careful Reader answered
You've the same sense of it that I do, but I'd dearly love being able to get all those blabber-pusses on that other forum to stop assuming they know all about such things, stating their made-up facts, and spreading the nonsense to huge number of people. Essentially, that's one of the consequences of legalese--only lawyers understand it.
10 |5000