question

I Love White Water Kayaking avatar image
I Love White Water Kayaking asked

Is it possible to augment the parental controls or FreeTime?

Hi, I'm a software developer on other platforms (Windows drivers, embedded hardware, Linux). My 13 year old son purchased a Kindle Fire HD 7 with his own money last week and as I started trying to set it up for him, I was quite disappointed in the available parental controls and in the FreeTime feature. They work but leave the kindle almost unusable or very disappointing experience for the child. My other son who is a couple years younger bought one too, but after seeing the FreeTime limitations on his brothers Kindle Fire he said he wanted to send his back when it arrives and save his money for something more fun. This prompted me to look int app development for the Kindle Fire to see if there was anything I could do to fill the void. [b]My question is:[/b] Is it even possible to do any of this at the app level or should we just hope it improves in then OS someday? More specifically: Are there any hooks into the system or API's where it would be possible to augment parental controls or FreeTime or implement user profiles? Would it be possible to implement an alternate version of FreeTime that is less restrictive? Are there any APIs that let you work with the Amazon catalog of products to offer a curated shopping experience? Here are some of my thoughts and details on what I'd like to accomplish (or should be implemented on the OS): After browsing a lot of forum posts, it seems this has been a long standing deficiency in the platform. It seems to me that Amazon is missing out some huge potential profits by not implementing a full featured content based parental control mechanism. FreeTime is great for small children but frustrating and cheats older children out of the kindle fire experience. In my experience no platform does a good job of implementing parental controls. The best I've found so far is in the Xbox because i