Once your skill is published to end users, your skill's status changes to live, and because any changes to the skill configuration would require recertification, a new development version is automatically created in the developer console. This version has the same information as the original live version. You can use it to continue to work on your skill to improve it and add features.
It’s important to note that only one skill version can be enabled on your account at a time, and that the version that is enabled will be the one that is invoked during your testing on an Alexa-enabled device. Because there are now two versions of your skill (live and development), you may be wondering how to select which one you’d like enabled.
You can change the version that is enabled on your account within the developer console by doing the following:
- Navigate to the Test tab for your skill
- In the drop-down menu labeled Skill testing is enabled in: select Live (to enable the live version) or Development (to enable the development version)
Enabling a particular version will cause the other to get automatically disabled immediately.
That said, please be aware that when enabling the live version of your skill, the live skill listing itself will not be visible in the Enabled Skills section of your Alexa App. The development skill listing will be visible in the Dev Skills section, however.