question

Miles Milosevich avatar image
Miles Milosevich asked

Passing intent as a variable into lambda?

Hi, I am fairly new here. Is it possible to pass everything after the invocation as a variable/input into a lambda? e.g. "Alexa, tell to "? I have very little coding knowledge, so I am trying to eventually pass this phrase to Tasker or EventGhost by having the lambda send an autoremote link containing the prementioned variable in the message. I considered using IFTTT instead, but this didn't have the flexibility I need. Thanks for the help
alexa skills kitvoice-user interface
10 |5000

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

jjaquinta avatar image
jjaquinta answered
You need to read up on how Alexa skills work. There are intents (which are kind of like functions) and slots (which are kind of like arguments to functions). That's it. That's what you get. Alexa is [b]not[/b] a generic speech to text service. At no point will you ever get "what the user said". Their computation pipeline never resolves that. It goes straight from sound to Intent + Slots.
10 |5000

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Miles Milosevich answered
Thank you for your response. Please, then, help me understand how something similar was done here: https://forums.developer.amazon.com/forums/thread.jspa?messageID=23962嶚
10 |5000

jjaquinta avatar image
jjaquinta answered