question

newuser-86542da4-8015-4422-8ba6-4d02f7fe19f6 avatar image
newuser-86542da4-8015-4422-8ba6-4d02f7fe19f6 asked ·

giving a string slot in Amazon alexa

Hi,

I'm new to alexa. I learnt and started to build a weather app.

right now I'm able to get weather data, but on the below condition,

1. I've craeated a custom slot(LIST_OF_CITIES) to hold Cities as below.
{
  "intents": [
    {
      "intent": "WeatherIntent",
      "slots": [
        {
          "name": "city",
          "type": "LIST_OF_CITIES"
        }
      ]
    },
    {
      "intent": "AMAZON.HelpIntent"
    },
    ]
}

and in my custom slot I gave as below.

TypeValuesLIST_OF_CITIESHyderabad | pune | london

and below are my Utterances

WeatherIntent give me {city} climate
WeatherIntent {city}
WeatherIntent what's the climate in {city}
WeatherIntent what's the weather in {city}
WeatherIntent {city}

when I run my program using any of the three cities mentioned in the above table, I'm able to get the correct. If I use anything apart from the above, it is sending back value as -4.

If I want to get tempreature of some other city, I need to add that city in the slot list.

Please let me know how can I get the vaues dynamically, I mean with out depending on the LIST_OF_CITIES, If I enter a city name, it should send back the result.

Also I tried adding type as LITERAL and also as AMAZON.LITERAL. When I saved it, I get the exception as

Error: There was a problem with your request: Unknown slot name '{city}'. Occurred in sample 'WeatherIntent get me weather of {city}' on line 1.

Please let me know where am I going wrong and how can I fix this.

Thanks

alexa skills kithow-to
10 |2000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

Jamie Grossman avatar image
Jamie Grossman answered ·