question

Robbert avatar image
Robbert asked

New to Alexa SDK's and have some fundamental questions...

Hi Everyone, I'm new to the SDK's that seem to just have been made (more?) public. I have two Echo devices in my house and they work great with the stock functionality. But what I would really like to do is extend it with capability to tell me things such as what the temperature is in a particular room in my house, set the thermostat, turn lights on/off, etc. My home automation system consists of a conglomerate of devices from Smarthome for lighting with the ISY controller, home-brew temperature and thermostat control using a PLC as well as .NET modules, etc. The code I would write using the ASK (skills) would be specifically for my implementation only, since my home automation system is unique in many ways. While the API's and cloud-centric behavior is geared mostly towards apps that anyone could use, my case is very different. So the questions I have that hopefully you guys can help me with are: - Can I create an ASK skill and keep it restricted to my two Echo's only? And if so, do I need to go through Amazon testing etc. before I can use these skills? - What would the best architecture be? Based on what I read so far, it seems like hosting my own "endpoint" is the way to go since I'd rather directly get to my network so the responses will be as fast as possible. So in that case I would set up a local https server with some code behind it to handle the Echo requests that come in, correct? - If I host on a server in my home, I do not have a FQDN, but I have a DDNS reference to my IP. Certificates will be difficult to handle in that case, right?. Is that something I can forego? And for added security, can Echo send requests on a non-standard port #? Any other suggestions or tips would be more than welcome!
alexa skills kitdebugging
10 |5000

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.