question

Anthony M. avatar image
Anthony M. asked

Any Examples of Validating SSL Certificate for Ruby

I've been trying for a few days now to validate the SSL certificate using the signature and PEM file as required for app submission. Does anyone have an example in Ruby that accomplishes this? This what I'm currently at, but i'm not sure exactly how to validate my request. The info I end up with in the logs looks like garbled text so I'm at a lost because i've never done this before. Any help is appreciated. url = request.headers["SignatureCertChainUrl"] Rails.logger.info request.headers["Signature"] Rails.logger.info Base64.decode64(request.headers["Signature"]) sig = request.headers["Signature"] x = URI.parse(url) puts x.host raw = open(x).read # DER- or PEM-encoded #p raw certificate = OpenSSL::X509::Certificate.new raw Rails.logger.info certificate.public_key.public_decrypt(Base64.decode64(sig)) -Anthony
alexa skills kitdebugging
10 |5000

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Anthony M. avatar image
Anthony M. answered
Finally able to figure it out after loads of googling and i was waaaayy off. But I figured it out and below is the solution in case others have similar issues. x = URI.parse(url) raw = open(x).read # DER- or PEM-encoded certificate = OpenSSL::X509::Certificate.new raw signature = request.headers["Signature"] digest = Digest::SHA1.hexdigest request.body.read digest = OpenSSL::Digest.new('sha1', request.body.read) digest = OpenSSL::Digest::SHA1.new Rails.logger.info digest Rails.logger.info request.body.read if certificate.public_key.verify digest,Base64.decode64(signature).to_s,request.body.read Rails.logger.info 'Valid' else begin raise 'A test exception.' rescue Exception => e response.status = 400 render :text => ({:error=>"Certificate Isn't Valid - Didn't Pass signature match"}).to_json.html_safe, :status => 400 end end
10 |5000