question

Bill Kearney avatar image
Bill Kearney asked

Smart Home bridge configuration reloading?

Could we PLEASE have the ability to selectively re-load the configuration for just a SINGLE bridge?

Right now we're required to forget ALL devices, and this also causes the loss of ALL grouping.

During the first stages of automating a home there's potential for a changing the names of various devices to better suit use of them from via voice. But instead of just being able to reload we're punished by having to lose ALL of the other devices. Especially if you have more than one type of bridge active (Hue, Wemo, SmartThings, Homeseer, etc).

alexa skills kitalexa smart home
10 |3000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Brian@Amazon avatar image
Brian@Amazon answered

Hi Bill. I've passed this feature request on to our development team.

10 |3000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Brian@Amazon avatar image
Brian@Amazon answered

I received information from the developer team. Renames are picked up by Alexa, so there is no need to forget all and lose the grouping. In additional, individual devices can be forgotten by using the forget link next to the device name. That will leave the groups intact.

10 |3000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.