question

Manusinh_Thakor avatar image
Manusinh_Thakor asked

how can i implement ReportState and ChangeState in smart home skill.

Hello...

I'm new to Alexa skill development. Recently, I'd created a smart home skill from the "create Alexa smart home skill" guide. the skill is created and in the test phase device is discovered by the Alexa app. but when I turn the device on or off, after few seconds the app says the device is unresponsive. when I asked about that issue in the forum, they said that you have to implement ReportState in your skill. So I want to add ReportState and ChangeState in my smart home skill which is written in python. I can't find any example which is in python for the same.

Thanks in advance.

pythonsmart-homealexa-skills-kitproactive-endpoint-management
10 |3000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

KirkC@Amazon avatar image
KirkC@Amazon answered

Hello. To take a step back, StateReport events and ChangeReport events are two separate but related types of responses you can send. Let's begin then by defining each.

StateReport Event

When you open the Alexa app, go to the "Devices" tab and tap on a specific device, Amazon will send you a ReportState directive every three seconds. You respond to each ReportState directive synchronously by returning a StateReport event.
https://developer.amazon.com/en-US/docs/alexa/smarthome/state-reporting-for-a-smart-home-skill.html#report-state-when-alexa-requests-it

If you do not respond to a ReportState directive with a StateReport event, then you will see the "Device is Unresponsive" message in the Alexa app.

ChangeReport Event