question

newuser-7f2f4fd0-56ca-4ddf-b14d-781bbffddf14 avatar image

How do I make my smart home device open for discovery?

I'm very new to the Smart Home Skills API, so forgive me if I'm asking any silly questions.

I have a board with an ESP8266 chip and wanted to make a smart doorbell using it. I've been following the tutorial from https://github.com/alexa/alexa-smarthome/wiki/Build-a-Working-Smart-Home-Skill-in-15-Minutes and I'm on the testing portion. The tutorial outlines everything needed on the lambda/AWS side of things but I'm still confused on how the device you make communicates with AWS.

I can tell that the two things my device needs to handle are discovery and the DoorbellPress event . For the time being, I just have my board running the "HTTPSRequest" example sketch with some of the settings put in. For discovery, should my board just keep sending a post request with the payload described in Discover.Response, and then only send a DoorbellPress event to the API when the button is pressed? I noticed the 2 way communication api just came out in October of this past year, so finding any tutorials or information on this has been difficult.

TLDR: I have a board that can connect to wifi and all I want to be able to do is push a button on it, and have my Alexa respond with a doorbell chime.

how-tosmart homedevice discoverynew productsbutton
10 |5000

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

Gaetano@Amazon avatar image
Gaetano@Amazon answered

Dear customer,

thanks for posting. The usage of Lambda is mandatory for a smart home skill, meaning that your device cloud needs to be reachable from the Internet.

In your case particular case (ESP8266) you could just build an HTTPS server that sets / gets the state of your device, given the JSON you receive from the Alexa service when an user interacts with your device using voice or via the App.