question

Devvers avatar image
Devvers asked ·

How to make Alexa continue to speak without intent.

Hi guys! Im quite new to Alexa programming, and was just curious if I could build multiple responses in python with lambda. I've noticed that the build response functions in the "Color Picker" sample seem to only run in Return statements. I was just curious if there is a way to have alexa say something after X amount of time has passed since she had previously spoken (with just one intent)? Please let me know if this is a possibility!!!

alexa skills kithelpintentsresponsepython
10 |2000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

newuser-d061d333-9f2e-4c45-a6a6-e7240b055d5b avatar image
newuser-d061d333-9f2e-4c45-a6a6-e7240b055d5b answered ·

You could do a re prompt message, so if a user does not respond fast enough Alexa will say something reminding them of what to say. In the Color Picker Example, it looks like they have not included a re prompt text, and set it as null, at least in the JavaScript one.

Also shouldendsession is flagged as true, so if you wanted a re prompt set that as false.

I hope this helps!

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Anand@Amazon avatar image
Anand@Amazon answered ·

Hi Devvers,

You can try multi turn conversational dialog to enter more input.

You can create a re-prompt as well whether the entered data is correct or not.

check here for more details.

Justin avatar image
Justin answered ·