Idea

Cpt Morgan avatar image
Cpt Morgan suggested

I may be crazy

Let me start by saying I’m not a developer, I’ve no interest in being a developer, I’m a consumer of the products and services provided by developers.Unfortunately, in my eyes, these home automation products are not ready for the “general (non-techie) consumer”.

In my home I have the following:

2 Alexa Dots, 1 echo Spot, 1 echo Show

• Echo Connect
  • Hue lights throughout the house (hub required)
  • Harmony hub (to control the bedroom TV)
  • Several WEMO plugs around the house
  • Wemo Light switches
  • TP-Link Light Switches and plugs
  • 2 Nest 3rd gen Thermostats
  • Nest Protect
  • Schlage Door Locks
  • Ring Pro video Doorbell
  • Arlo Pro Security cameras
  • AEgool LED light strips
  • DreemScreen (on order)
  • Chamberlin Smart Garage Hub
  • 2 FireSticks wAlexa

I probably missed a few things but you get the idea.I’ve jumped into the deep end of this home automation pool; haven’t sprung for the big ticket items yet e.g., Washer Dryer, Refrig, Ovens.But that maybe in the future If this stuff ever gets to the point where we, the “general consumers” can turn it on and it “just works”

Amazon Echo/Alexa was my choice of the integration tool and expect that product to plug and play the other products. Why do I have to be the systems integrator?I’m paying premium prices for this stuff. $69 for 4 light bulbs, $250 for a speaker with a microphone and a 7 inc video display, $60 for a light switch, $500 for two thermostats, really?, I am crazy! That aside, when I pay those prices I expect to do basic stuff.For example, I want to set up a routine to shut down the house. I want to tell (not yell) Alexa, “Goodnight” and the following happens:

1. Make sure all the doors are locked
  2. Make sure the garage door is closed (If it’s open she should ask if she should close it.)
  3. Kick the kids off the internet (turn off their access)
  4. Turn off the TVs